How long does it take the average human to run one mile?

A person just beginning to run should complete a mile in about 13 minutes. Someone who has been running longer should be able to go a little faster and a little further, completing a mile in about 9 or 10 minutes. An experienced runner in good shape will do 4 or 5 minutes miles.