What does cream of tartar do in recipes?

Cream of tartar stabilizes the tiny bubbles in the egg whites, by precluding the egg proteins from sticking together. It thus speeds up the egg white whipping process and contributes to a stable, billowy, glossy meringue, perfect for cookies, topping pies, and folding into cake.

---

Cream of Tartar does different things in different recipes. Most notably for instance, cream of tartar stabilizes the tiny bubbles in egg whites, by precluding the egg proteins from sticking together for a delicious meringue.