How do you keep apples from turning brown after cutting them?

Sliced apples turn brown because they begin to oxidize when exposed to oxygen in the air. To keep cut apples from turning brown, you can keep them submerged in water, or coat them in a mixture of water and honey, or coat them with citrus juice. Keeping them in an airtight container also helps.