Is the mosasaurus bigger than a megalodon?

The largest Mosasaurus was probably slightly longer but considerably lighter than megalodon. Mosasaurs reached about 16 meters in length; megalodon reached maybe 16 or 17.

---

The largest mosasaurus were estimated to weigh as much as 30,000 pounds and lived 60 to 100 million years ago. The megalodon was larger and weighted as much as 120,000 pounds and lived 3 to 25 million years ago.