Why are cats noses dry?

Not all cats have dry noses. If a cat has a dry nose if often means that the kitty is dehydrated or has some sort of fever. There is what you may a call a loose correlation between a cool, moist nose and good health, though. Some perfectly healthy cats have warm, dry noses.