Why are the candy nerds called nerds?

According to Laurnie Wilson, "Some say that [Nerds were] named after a reference in the Dr. Seuss Book If I Ran the Zoo, where a 'nerd' is mentioned as one of the creatures the narrator would collect for his zoo." Wilson also mentions the invention of the now-discontinued Nerds cereal.