How did the strawberry get it's name?

Although the exact origin of its name is uncertain, the name strawberry probably is a corruption of "strewn berry". The latter was an early designation for the plant which made reference to the fact that, as a strawberry plant produced runners and spread, its berries were strewn about the ground