How do you tell the difference between baking soda and baking powder?

Baking soda is Sodium Bicarbonate. Baking powder is Sodium Bicarbonate plus Cream of Tartar and Corn Starch. The easiest way to tell which is which is to put a teaspoon of the powder into a tablespoon of water if the powder fizzes it is baking powder. If it doesn't it is baking soda.

---

If you end up with an Unlabeled jar of powder, Put a teaspoon of the powder into a tablespoon of water. If it fizzes, it's baking powder. If it doesn't, it's baking soda