How do you know if corn is done cooking?

You time it. If you are cooking ears of corn by boiling, no more than 10 minutes. If you are roasting them whole on the grill, about 40-50 minutes. If you're cooking canned corn, about five minutes in the microwave. It depends on how corn's being prepared.