Tell me about the clarinet?

The clarinet is a woodwind instrument, in the same family as saxophones and flutes. While it uses a wooden reed like a saxophone, it is lightweight and straight like a flute. You also hold it in front of you like a saxophone, not sideways like a flute. The sound it makes is also between those two.