How can you tell if a dog is crying?

Dog-crying really is more like whimpering and unlike humans, dogs don't tear up when they are sad. “Signs that your dog is sad include vocalizations, like whimpering or whining, as well as showing a lack of energy or interest in things they normally love, like favorite snacks or toys,”