Can birds taste food?

Yes, depending on the species, birds may have fewer than 50 or up to roughly 500 taste buds, while humans have 9,000-10,000 taste buds. Birds can taste sweet, sour, and bitter flavors, and they learn which of those tastes are the most suitable and nutritious food sources.