Tell me about nineteen fifty four?

At 11 a.m. EDT on October 14, 1954, The U.S. Weather Bureau (precursor to the National Weather Service) issued a warning for the Carolinas, although the forecasters felt the center of Hazel would remain offshore and weaken. Instead the hurricane took a northwest turn and headed toward land.