What is the origin of the name robin?

Medieval English diminutive of Robert, usually regarded as an independent name. Robin Hood was a legendary hero and archer of medieval England who stole from the rich to give to the poor. In modern times it has also been used as a feminine name, and it may sometimes be about the red-breasted bird.