Where did the phrase dog days of summer come from?

The dog days of summer are the hot, sultry days of summer. The period following the heliacal rising of the star system Sirius, which Greek and Roman astrology connected with heat, drought, sudden thunderstorms, lethargy, fever, mad dogs, and bad luck.