What does insightful mean?

Insightful is an adjective meaning having, or showing, an accurate and deep understanding; being perceptive.

---

When you have the ability to look (sight) inside (in) something––a painting, a discussion, a situation––and find what others aren't seeing, you are being insightful. An insightful person is someone capable of deep, insightful thinking.