Does pumpkin pie have to be stored in the refrigerator?

According to the United States Department of Agriculture, it's not safe to eat homemade pies with egg-based fillings (including pumpkin pie) that have been allowed to sit at room temperature for two hours or longer. Properly stored, pumpkin pie will keep for three to four days in the refrigerator.