What's apple cider vinegar?

Apple cider vinegar, or cider vinegar, is a vinegar made from fermented apple juice, and used in salad dressings, marinades, vinaigrettes, food preservatives, and chutneys. It is made by crushing apples, then squeezing out the juice. Wikipedia

---

All vinegars are created when yeast ferment sugars into alcohol and then bacteria (or sometimes fungus) ferment alcohol into acetic acid. Apple cider vinegar is formed when fresh apple cider is fermented into hard cider and then into vinegar.