What is a slime from minecraft?

Slimes spawn in the Overworld in specific "slime chunks" below layer 40, regardless of light levels. They can also spawn in swamp biomes between layers 50 and 70, in light levels of 7 or less. Only sizes 1 2 and 4 spawn naturally.