What is parchment paper for?

Parchment paper, also often called “baking paper,” is a super handy item to have in your kitchen! It can be used on baking sheets, inside cake pans, and on other baking containers to act as a barrier between the dish and the food being baked or cooked. It keeps food from sticking or burning.