When was johnny versace murdered?

July 15, 1997. Giovanni "Gianni" Maria Versace was an Italian fashion designer and founder of Versace. Just back from a morning walk, Italian style icon Gianni Versace was shot twice while on the front steps of his Miami Beach, Florida, mansion.