What does the store h. e. b. stand for?

H. E. B. is the initials of Howard Edward Butt. It is a grocery store chain founded in 1905 when Florence Butt opened the C.C. Butt Grocery Store in Kerrville, Texas. In 1919, her youngest son took over the store upon his return from World War I and his initials later became the name of the store.