What is a. g. stand for?

On the periodic table, Ag stands for Argentum, aka silver. Other abbreviations and acronyms are agriculture, Attorney General, antigen, Adjutant General, action group, and acoustic guitar. A.G. is also the initials of former US VP Al Gore and former Chair of the Federal Reserve Alan Greenspan