Do trees ever stop growing?

The trunks of trees keep getting wider. Trees add new rings every year. But, trees do stop growing in height. Trees grow more slowly as they age. At a certain age, they essentially stop gaining height. Some scientists suggest that tree cells stop dividing, then it stops getting taller.