How do i know if an egg is old?

Place the egg in a bowl full of water. If the egg sinks to the bottom and lays on one side it is fresh, if it stands up on its end then it is most likely about a week old. If the egg rises to the top of the bowl of water, then it is no longer good and should not be used.