What was the highest wind speed ever recorded?

The fastest wind speed not related to tornadoes, was during Tropical Cyclone Olivia April 10, 1996: with a maximum wind gust of 253 mph. The highest wind speed in a tornado was 300 mph; during the 1999 Bridge Creek–Moore tornado in Oklahoma on May 3, 1999.