Who are the death eaters?

The Death Eaters are characters featured in the Harry Potter series of novels & films. They are a terrorist group of wizards & witches, led by the dark wizard Lord Voldemort, who seek to purify the wizarding community by eliminating wizards & witches born to non-magical parents.