When was d. and d. created?

Dungeons and Dragons was created by American game designers Ernest Gary Gygax and David Arneson in 1974 and published that year by Gygax's company, Tactical Studies Rules (TSR). The game was acquired in 1997 by Wizards of the Coast, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc.