Who is the gruffalo?

The Gruffalo is a children's book by writer and playwright Julia Donaldson, illustrated by Axel Scheffler, that tells the story of a mouse, the protagonist of the book, taking a walk in the woods. ... It is written in rhyming couplets, featuring repetitive verse with minor variance.