What was the first chip ever invented?

The pioneers known for inventing microchip technology are Jack Kilby of Texas Instruments and Robert Noyce of Fairchild Semiconductor. In 1959, Kilby patented the first miniaturized electronic circuit and Noyce patented the silicon-based integrated circuit.