What is mono lauren?

According to webmd.com, Monolaurin is used for preventing and treating colds, flu, swine flu, shingles, and other infections. It is also used to treat chronic fatigue syndrome and to boost the immune system. In foods, monolaurin is used in the production of ice cream, margarine, and spaghetti.