Where does pupi come from?

Some experts think that its origin could be traced back to the Greek marionettists,since rod marionettes were known to exist by then in Syracuse,Sicily.It is less difficult to establish the start of the Sicilian Puppet Theatre.The Opera dei Pupi/Sicilian Puppet Theatre, dates back to the18th Century