Can humans eat eucalyptus leaves?

It has a gum-infused bark, long stems, and circular leaves that are hard to digest if eaten whole. However, eucalyptus leaves can be made into a tea that's safe for consumption. Additionally, the leaves can be made into essential oil for topical use or inhalation.