What's the substitute for sweet potato?

The yam. They are not the same vegetable.

---

Use red (Garnet), Jewel (called yams in the U.S.) or white sweet potatoes interchangeably. Do remember the red and Jewel will be moist rather than "dryer" inside. The white are typically the preferred for roasting.