How to cook green lentils?

Cook on a stovetop, using 3 cups of liquid which can be either water or stock to 1 cup of dry lentils. Be sure to use a large enough pot... Bring to a boil, cover with a tight fitting lid and reduce heat to a simmer until they are tender.