Why does a life cycle repeat again and again?

While the word "cycle" implies repetition, the life cycle of an organism or machine is its sequence of changes from one state back to a similar state. There may be only one cycle in a life cycle. But a fundamental recurring state for organisms is reproduction, resulting in long-term repetition.