What's the definition of yeoman?

Yeoman has multiple meanings depending on context. It can refer to a person who owns and cultivates a small plot of land. Historically, a yeoman also referred to a servant or page working in a noble household. Finally, yeoman is a rank in many navies which handles clerical or administrative tasks.