Why do we get rain?

When air rises, such as up a mountain slope, or when encountering a cold front or warm front, the air cools and the moisture condenses into clouds and rain. Therefore, areas near oceans and lakes, and areas where the air flows off an ocean and up a mountain, are likely to get a lot of rain.