What makes the earth turn?

Years ago the Earth formed out of a nebula that collapsed. As the nebula collapsed it began rotating. The Earth's rotation comes from the initial tendency to rotate that was imparted on it when it formed, only the relatively weak tidal forces from the Moon act to slow it down.