Where do green peppers come from?

Bell peppers originated in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Peppers were named by Christopher Columbus and Spanish explorers who were searching for peppercorn plants to produce black pepper. Columbus took samples of a wide variety of peppers back to Europe where they became quite popular.