Why do we have boogies?

Boogies, bogeys or even boogers – whatever you call them, the little bits of dry snot (or “mucus”) that form in your nose actually help protect you from harm. Your nose makes mucus to help collect the tiny dust and dirt particles in the air you breathe, to stop them getting into your lungs.