Who gave the order to drop the atomic bomb?

The 33rd President of the United States, President Harry Truman, made the decision to drop the "Little Boy" nuclear bomb on Hiroshima on August 6, 1945. Acting Army Chief of Staff Thomas Hardy issued the physical order for the dropping of the bomb with the President's authority.