Why do cats lick your face?

There is no exact answer as to why a cat will lick a human, especially on the face, but there are some theories that they are leaving their scent, seeking attention, or might just enjoy the taste, whether it's the salt of your sweat or what you ate recently that may be still lingering on your skin.