What is the ultimatrix?

The Ultimatrix (also rarely mistaken as the Omnitrix) was a gauntlet-like device that could transform the wearer into different sapient alien species, providing the Codon Stream had a DNA sample of said species. It could also evolve those aliens into their Ultimate Form.