What is a chickadee?

A chickadee is part of a group of small North American birds about 2.5”-5.5” long, weighing less than .5 oz., avg. lifespan is between 2-3 years. Chick-a-dee-dee-dee is the sound they make. chickadee is also used in slang when affectionately referring to someone you love such as a child or partner.

---

The chickadees are a group of North American birds in the tit family included in the genus Poecile. Species found in North America are referred to as chickadees