What's the difference of a.m. and p.m.?

When discussing time using the 12 hour clock, the time is noted as a.m. (from Latin ante meridiem, translating to "before midday") and p.m. (from Latin post meridiem, translating to "after midday"). So a.m. is before noon, and p.m. is after.