How do you tell when a cake is done?

An old fashioned way of checking is to use a toothpick and poke top of the cake in the middle. If it came back with cake on it, it was not done yet because it it still too moist inside. If it comes out clean it was considered done. Results can vary depending on how deep the cake is though.