What does it mean to compost excess food wast?

Composting is a controlled process of aerobic decomposition. To compost food waste, the waste is placed in a pile, usually with other organic materials such as leaves, and microorganisms break down the food into humus, a carbon-rich organic material. The pile needs to be aerated to prevent odors.