What's the original plan for stranger things?

Before the sci-fi series took on the name Stranger Things, it was originally sold as Montauk. Rather than be set in the small town of Hawkins, Indiana, the series would have been set in Montauk, New York, and the surrounding area of Long Island centered around the government "Montauk Project".