Do you hamsters live in the wild?

Yes. Hamsters were not bred for domestic life until 1939. In the wild they like to live in warm, dry areas, like sand dunes or the edge of deserts. The first hamsters were discovered in Syria. They also live in the wild in more diverse countries, such as Greece, Romania, Belgium and northern China.